Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Monday, July 25, 2011

Volunteer librarians needed for West Philly Schools!

Gain library experience while supporting local schools!  Read on for details...

The Lea School at 47th and Spruce has lost its staff librarian to the layoffs. To offset this and supplement the library, the West Philadelphia Alliance for Children (WePAC)'s Open Books, Open Minds program will be coming to Lea in the fall 2011.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Surviving the Job Search: From the Other Side of the Desk... The Phone Interview!

Today’s guest post comes from Vicki Gruzynski, an Information Services Librarian at Southeast Missouri State University (SEMO).

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have recently finished up my duties as a member of a hiring committee here at SEMO, so these tips and tricks for a successful phone interview and on-campus interview experience are fresh in my mind.

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

ALA Virtual Conference - July 13-14

Missed the ALA conference?  Check out the Virtual Conference:

"ALA Virtual Conference brings you additional interesting and useful sessions—perfect for those who couldn’t make it to Annual Conference as well as those who did and are ready for more—right from your own computer.

ALA is offering a full series of 11 interactive web sessions on Wednesday, July 13 and Thursday, July 14 after the 2011 Annual Conference in New Orleans, LA. The conference will begin each day at 9:30 a.m. Eastern/6:30 a.m. Pacific and end at 5:00 p.m. Eastern/2:00 p.m. Pacific."

For more info and to register visit